m menu image  m home

Authentic Reviews from Yelp or Google




Professional, on time

Saturday 19 August, 2017



Professional, on time

This is the company to use if you want a gas fireplace insert in the East Bay (or wherever they work). Professional, knowledgable, helpful, on time, clean and great workmanship.
Review By: Alexis R. in Yelp



Great Work

Friday 18 August, 2017



Great Work

Very professional, knowledgable, on time, great work, clean. I couldn't ask for more!!
Review By: Alexis Rhorer in Google



surprisingly comprehensive showroom

Friday 18 August, 2017



surprisingly comprehensive showroom

If you are looking a higher end gas insert (as opposed to the simple gas pipe run to some concrete logs), this is the place. They have a surprisingly comprehensive showroom, which can be pretty warm; the result of having to demo heaters in summer. Many of the units are customizable to fit your circumstances, which can really drive the price up. Your choice, though. Staff is easy to work with and the installation went as promised. They showed up on time and left no mess. They even replaced an exiting failed GFCI that they encountered in the course of the job. If you are interested in replacing your fireplace, check them out.
Review By: Jeff J. in Yelp



wonderful work

Friday 18 August, 2017



wonderful work

if at the end of the day all is well then all is well, the folks at Kidd got back to us and finished the job. The stove is beautiful and Jason does wonderful work.
Giving a couple of times when the work can get done is helpful given how busy these guys are. And they do do it all, gas line, the electric, and installation.
Review By: Linda S. in Yelp



Great Crew

Friday 27 January, 2017



Great Crew

We want to give a special shout out to Perry who was So on top of everything and made us very comfortable throughout the process and then the installation.
Great Crew! We just Love our new gas insert!
Review By: Sean Zoesdad in Google



Patient and pleasant

Friday 18 November, 2016



Patient and pleasant

We bought a Mendota fireplace insert from Kidd Fireplace and Spa several years ago. Randy Kidd has been so helpful. Besides being extremely knowledgeable, he is patient and pleasant. He even came to service our fireplace when his schedule was so booked he could only come on his lunch break. Much as we like our Mendota, the excellent service provided by Kidd is what earns five stars-- highly reco
Review By: Eleanor And Nick C.. in Yelp



Professional and wonderful

Tuesday 18 October, 2016



Professional and wonderful

Kevin worked with me on 3 different fireplaces which an architect had spec'd. The architect hadn't researched any properly. All were issues from the start and Kevin was incredibly helpful. He presented numerous options to try and make things work. All the people there were professional and wonderful to work with. Thank you!
Review By: Nancy M. in Yelp



We are delighted

Sunday 16 October, 2016



We are delighted

Kidd Fireplace installed our new gas fireplace when we purchased the house in 2010. Although it functioned perfectly at first, after a couple of years we saw a series of problems: burners cut out from time to time (and then re-lit themselves), for example, and excessive and premature wear on the burners. Not a safety issue, but disconcerting.

Randy Kidd and the office staff always responded promptly to our requests for assistance, and over the years we saw a lot of Randy for regular maintenance and extensive repair and parts replacement. The point of this review is to document the action of Kidd Fireplace to replace the electrical and mechanical elements of the fireplace entirely with the latest Mendota product. Mendota provided the parts under warranty, and Kidd Fireplace treated the labor as warranty as well.

The result is effectively a new fireplace and one that works perfectly. We are delighted with it, and very appreciative of Kidd Fireplace's actions to find a definitive solution. We highly recommend them, and would hire them again.
Review By: Don T. in Yelp



We are so happy

Tuesday 04 October, 2016



We are so happy

Randy is awesome!! We have had a few people look at our gas fireplace that was installed by a previous owner and no one could fix it. Randy came out and knew exactly what was wrong and how to fix it. He had parts available and now we have our downstairs living room ready for winter. We are so happy that we found Kidd Fireplace and will recommend them to all of our friends looking for a new, custom install or repair.
Review By: Mary V. in Yelp



On time. Fair price. Clean. Friendly

Tuesday 13 September, 2016



On time. Fair price. Clean. Friendly

Kidd came out to my home, arriving within the designated time window they gave me, and fixed my fireplace. They were able to give me the part under warranty, and I only had to play for labor. Score! The technician was very clean and friendly. On time. Fair price. Clean. Friendly. What else do you want for a service call?
Review By: Scott S. in Yelp



Good people

Monday 12 September, 2016



Good people

Good people.
Review By: Steve Sidle in Google



professional, competent, and on-time

Monday 08 August, 2016



professional, competent, and on-time

I went down to their new location and made an appointment. Kevin came out and gave me a quote on a Regency. He was able to give me options for my existing fireplace from the 60s. We decided to go with an insert which looked great and worked very well for my home. They came back out the second time to install a custom chase pan. Looks beautiful! Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Jason came out for the install, he was professional, competent, and on-time. Work quality was excellent! Overall, a good experience.
Review By: John W. in Yelp



Easy, Timely, Great

Saturday 23 July, 2016



Easy, Timely, Great

Kevin got us exactly what we wanted after thoroughly evaluating all options with us. Scheduling was easy - install was timely and communication was great throughout the process. Thanks!
Review By: Andy V. in Yelp



More then happy to recommend Kidd Fireplace

Saturday 23 July, 2016



More then happy to recommend Kidd Fireplace

We purchased a Mendota gas fireplace from them and Perry was very helpful in answering all our questions. Kevin handled the scheduling; his crew showed up on time at the appointed day, the installation went smoothly, and the fireplace looks beautiful.
We got a remote control with it and its a breeze to use. With its off-on button, you can adjust the fireplaces' built in fan, mood lighting, and two rows of flames any way you want without leaving the couch. (We highly recommend everyone getting a remote control).
We're more then happy to recommend Kidd Fireplace and the Mendota model we bought.
Thanks guys for a job well done!
Review By: Will C. in Yelp



Recommended

Tuesday 05 January, 2016



Recommended

I find it hard to believe how people have had a bad experience with these guys. Couldn't be nicer and more accommodating. We've mostly dealt with Perry who is a gem.
Review By: Jayne A. in Yelp



Highly recommend Kidd

Saturday 30 May, 2015



Highly recommend Kidd

Love our new gas fireplace. The folks at Kidd Fireplace are terrific - Randy, Jason, Perry and Kevin. Installation was so smooth. I highly recommend Kidd. Looking forward to being cozy with new fireplace
Review By: Barry K. in Yelp



As fantastic as ever

Thursday 18 December, 2014



As fantastic as ever

Still as fantastic as ever! Great service, fast, affordable and just generally good people.
Review By: Catherine C. in Yelp



It's perfect

Thursday 11 December, 2014



It's perfect

Wow, I can' believe how wonderful the fireplace looks (Rasmussen Evening Prestige), and working with Kevin was the best. Before ordering, he came to look at my fireplace and measure -- he said I could easily have a 30-inch, then he recommended the unit where the logs sit on sand so there is no grate. I still don't know how the flame gets through the sand, but it does! We also selected remote control with variable flame adjustment -- it is the best setup! The burning "embers" and lava rock around the base of the fireplace make it look very real. If you have a gas hookup already, you just need a plumber to install the unit to the gas line. You can do the rest yourself, the directions that come with the unit are clear. I did call Rasmussen (on a Saturday) for one question and they were very helpful. I laid out the sand and embers, then positioned the logs the way I wanted them. So happy to have it installed for the holidays!
Review By: Helen T. in Yelp



Looks Great

Friday 17 October, 2014



Looks Great

I give them a five star rating. The whole process was pleasant. They were on time work was done fast and they cleaned up after themselves. They showed us how to operate the system and it worked.
It is beautiful and we love it.
Review By: Judi D. in Yelp



Every dollar spent with Kidd is worth it!

Sunday 05 January, 2014



Every dollar spent with Kidd is worth it!

We strongly recommend Kidd Fireplace Services. Kevin did an excellent job in explaining the various options and trade-offs for fireplace inserts, helped us picking the right choice, and came quickly for a visit to discuss the project and the cost. Jason did the actual installation in an outstanding manner - high quality and very professional service. We love our fireplace insert - every dollar spent with Kidd is worth it!
Review By: Andreas K. in Yelp



Reliable and Timely

Saturday 30 November, 2013



Reliable and Timely

At last I found a service professional who can advise me on, and handle all, my fireplace needs in a reliable and timely manner.
Review By: Nancy Lovejoy — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Total Customer Satisfaction!

Saturday 30 November, 2013



Total Customer Satisfaction!

I just wanted to reiterate my total satisfaction with Kidd Services. I have worked with several contractors since we bought our house and you guys were such a joy to work with. I really appreciated the fact that you always called back within 24 hours and showed up as promised every time. Even when you were running 20 minutes late, you called. Then, when it was time to do the work, the guys were so great. They were polite and cleaned up all of the mess and I swear they didn't rest the whole time they were at our house.

Thank you so much!
Review By: Heather — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Great job guys! Thank you!

Monday 25 November, 2013



Great job guys! Thank you!

I purchased a wood insert for my fireplace. Kevin was the sales guy who took the order. He was very knowledgeable about the products and did a great job putting the order together. I had some special considerations as to when the unit would be installed. Kevin got me a great date which was most appreciated! When install date was upon us, Jason & Jeremy were my installers. They put the unit in and did a very professional job! The stove burns well and I am finally enjoying what has been the cold end of my house. Now it is toasty! I would definitely recommend Kidd to anyone! Great job guys! Thank you!
Review By: Chris B. in Yelp



THANK YOU RANDY

Tuesday 21 May, 2013



THANK YOU RANDY

Randy arrived on time and took care of the immediate needs of our fireplaces; maintenance and helpful hints going forward. He's a professional and I highly recommend Kidd!
Review By: Lorraine Pohl — Testimonial entered in Our Website



We will be using Kidd again

Saturday 09 March, 2013



We will be using Kidd again

After a terrible experience with Blaze Fireplaces (see my 1 star review) I turned to Randy to fix things. What a professional! He showed up in a timely manner, behaved extremely professionally, and best of all fixed our gas fireplace. It's now working reliably and is clean as new after he serviced it. Randy has a very friendly and helpful demeanor. We will be using Kidd again in the future.
Review By: Shawn E. in Yelp



Kidd was priced comparably

Thursday 07 February, 2013



Kidd was priced comparably

We bought a Gas Insert from Kidd and had a great experience. We got estimates from all the major local places. Kidd was priced comparably. We ended up picking them because they are the only one that also does the Gas lines, and Electric. We figured, if something goes wrong it's better to have "one neck to choke". I was afraid of a scenario where the installer blames the plumber blames the electrician etc. We did not regret the decision.

Something did indeed go wrong with the unit we bought (Regency U390, starter went south and wouldn't turn on), and they stood behind the work. Randy had to come out twice, and had to disassemble and rebuild the unit. He did so without complaint, and we were not charged. While I'm sure we were still under warranty it was refreshing to see them stand behind their work with no argument. When I thanked Randy he made it clear that they "want to do right" by the customer.
Review By: E L. in Yelp



I recommend Kidd Fireplace and Spa without reservation

Thursday 13 December, 2012



I recommend Kidd Fireplace and Spa without reservation

My husband and I are repeat customers with Kidd Fireplace. Four years ago, Kidd Fireplace installed a Regency gas fireplace for us in our home of 31 years. We just relocated to another home in another community last month. My husband and I visited Kidd Fireplace's showroom last month and Kevin took a lot of time explaining the features of all the gas fireplace brands they currently carry, and advised us on the size unit to choose that would meet the heating needs of our family room. Kevin gave us some additional reading materials, we did our due diligence, and then made a decision on the brand and model we wanted. Kevin came out to our house and took a look around at our gas line situation. There were some peculiarities in our particular setup and it was apparent that this was not going to be a straightforward installation. Kevin said his installers would make it work, and make it work they did. Jason and Terry, the two installers who have been with Kidd Fireplace for years, came out to the house and worked diligently to extend the gas line to where it needed to be, installed the gas fireplace unit, and then explained to us in detail how to change the batteries in both the remote control and the remote receiver inside the fireplace. I took digital photos of how to do this which I will have for future when the batteries do need to be changed. Jason was uber patient with me while I asked questions (Fireplace 1 for Dummies) until I understood what I would need to do when it comes time to change the batteries.

Probably the best thing we can say about Kidd Fireplace is that we are repeat customers, and people don't do repeat business with companies from which they receive bad products or services. We plan to order another fireplace insert from Kidd Fireplace for our living room so we can heat that area and save on heating the entire house with the central furnace. I recommend Kidd Fireplace and Spa without reservation.
Review By: G. W. in Yelp



Excellent service!! Highly recommend

Tuesday 21 August, 2012



Excellent service!! Highly recommend

I am currently remodeling my entire house and shopped around several vendors for our Napoleon HD81 See Thru Fireplace. I have dealt with several vendors and sellers and couldn't have been happier with my experience with Kidd Fireplace and especially Kevin!

We are on a tight schedule and Kevin quickly got us everything we needed to accomodate our project. I couldn't be more pleased and will definitely be back when we landscape our backyard and put in a firepit!
Review By: Jan R. in Yelp



Prompt, knowledgable and stand behind their work

Tuesday 17 July, 2012



Prompt, knowledgable and stand behind their work

Randy Kidd was just here to service my gas Valor fireplace, which his company installed about 5 years ago.
This company is a good, solid business. They are prompt, knowledgable and stand behind their work.
They offered me the summer discount cleaning rate which I was happy to receive.
Review By: Frank U. in Yelp



Exceptional service

Wednesday 23 May, 2012



Exceptional service

Randy will work on the most difficult problems until they are resolved. Highly recommend his service.

Ellie Bunyard
Review By: Ellie B. in Yelp



I highly recommend

Sunday 15 April, 2012



I highly recommend

Tremendous service, support, quality of work, and very fair.
Review By: Kevin R. in Yelp



Service and integrity

Wednesday 28 March, 2012



Service and integrity

Five stars for Kidd Fireplace! My fire set was installed on November 12, 2011.Not being satisfied because of sizing misjudgment, about 3 months later I called to ask what I could do to alter the set. The owner offered to replace and upgrade the set at his expense stating if I wasn't happy, he wasn't happy. The installer was polite and very careful to keep the area clean. The new set is perfect. I highly recommend Kidd for service and integrity.
Review By: Rita L. in Yelp



Appreciate their knowledge and experience and willingness

Wednesday 07 March, 2012



Appreciate their knowledge and experience and willingness

Once again, Randy ( Kidd Fireplace Service) has done a great job. I have used them/him for several years now and have found them to be prompt, reliable and professional. I appreciate their knowledge and experience and willingness to answer my many questions about what is going on with my gas insert. Even though they did not install my insert, they were quite able work on it and solve the issues.
In these tough economic times, it is nice to find a person/company worth the money that is charged. I will be calling you folks again!
Review By: Linda S. in Yelp



Service

Friday 10 February, 2012



Service

Well I must say, I was not disappointed, I to was keep informed to my appointment times, had Randy do some clean up work that I had tried myself(don't try yourself- just hire these guys!!) They are Certified with The National Fireplace Institute, not only that, they keep there certifications up to date, very professional, resonable prices, and now I have a fireplace that works better that it ever has!! Love this gentleman Randy, and a shout out to his co-owner Kevin as well. I highly recommend there service and will refer them to friends and family. Kevin had great knowledge of an old stove of mine, and was great to talk with. Keep up the fabulous work that you do!!
Best regards, Liz
Review By: Elisabeth Graham — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Quality Service

Thursday 09 February, 2012



Quality Service

I have used Kidd Fireplace Service to repair and maintain my Fireplace. I have always received great service in all areas. Randy is fantastic at setting and keeping appointments, communicating when he is traveling to my location, what he is doing during and after the repair, and keeping me informed about parts needed, ordered, and when they arrive for installation. Randy is not only professional and knowledgeable of his craft, he is friendly and welcome in my home. I look forward to having him assist me with my future Fireplace needs.
Review By: Doug Richardson — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Excellent work and custumer service

Saturday 24 September, 2011



Excellent work and custumer service

Highly recommend this Family owned business that pays attention to detail. Provided repair as well as creative design and remodeling of my old fireplace. Both Randy and Jason did excellent, professional work and were a pleasure to work with. Susan kept me updated and arranged work based on my schedule. My Fireplace is beautiful!
Review By: Sharon Brown — Testimonial entered in Our Website



First rate service

Thursday 04 August, 2011



First rate service

showed up on time and did what was promised for exactly the price quoted. And even though he had the fireplace working to my satisfaction, Randy insisted on replacing the new flame regulator at no additional cost, which meant he had to order it, schedule another service call and install it. Amazing! Also, Dee is very friendly on the phone and even sends out emails reminders.
Review By: Cindy N. in Yelp



Great Service

Sunday 27 February, 2011



Great Service

We thought we had a problem with our pellets, too much moisture, not quality pellets, what ever. The real problem was so simple; we needed to close the ash dump door. We didn’t know so we called Kidd for help. Just a simple fix but Randy insisted on coming out to inspect the unit immediately, and this was on Saturday. The installation crew did a splendid job installing the stove and cleaning up the construction mess and the sales rep, Kevin, was very reassuring and informative during the purchase process. Customer first and customer care could be there motto. Thank you Kidd fireplace
Review By: gary — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Economic

Monday 31 January, 2011



Economic

Our 20 year old gas fireplace (no longer in production) stopped working. I got phone quotes that would only replace the entire unit at costs ranging from $3K to $7K.

Randy came and over 2 visits over 6 weeks replaced three parts for $1100 slightly under his initial quote.
Review By: John M. in Yelp



Kind and informative

Wednesday 16 June, 2010



Kind and informative

I called Kidd to get some information on a gas insert and whether our chimney might need some repairs before installing one. He was so kind and informative. He helped me to understand that I was actually talking about a gas log set and then explained the difference and what I might need in terms of repairs if I went with one versus the other. After I repair the chimney, I will go back to them to purchase the insert or gas log set because he was so helpful.
Review By: Sara H. in Yelp



Very happy customers

Wednesday 21 April, 2010



Very happy customers

We love our new gas fireplace. We had Kidd Fireplace Service take out the old pellet stove that kept giving us problems and they installed a gas stove. This stove gives off so much heat, it's amazing. I love it, so easy, no more hauling in 40# bags of pellets, not to mention going out to buy the pellets and trying to find good prices and filling the truck up and hauling them back to the house, what a hassel! No More! Wish we would have found Kidd sooner, instead we dealt with Jerry's Chimney in Hayward who ripped us off, I think Jerry's will be going out of business soon, let's hope. Thanks Kevin and Randy, very happy customers, even happier that we can now stay on the couch to adjust the heat, what luxury!!
Review By: Yelpergirl C. in Yelp



Greatly appreciated

Sunday 11 April, 2010



Greatly appreciated

Kidd Fireplace services installed our gas fireplace in 2006. Jason was the installer and he was thorough, professional and very helpful. In January 2010, the fireplace wouldn't light. Randy said a spider had probably made a web in the burn orifice. He was absolutely right. He cleaned that out in the first half hour which is the the minimum labor charge. It was no easy task since he had to take everything apart to get to it! I was in kind of a rush to get it serviced and they accomodated me on that also which I greatly appreciated. I would be happy to recommend them to anyone
Review By: a g. in Yelp



Superb quality

Sunday 04 April, 2010



Superb quality

The installation and the functionality of the fireplace insert we viewed was exceptional. We hope you open a sister store in Washington!
Review By: Lee & Rena Becker — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Great Job!

Wednesday 03 March, 2010



Great Job!

My wife was so satified with your work that she wanted me to tell you right away. Your guys were very neat and professional, and did a great job. She is very satisfied at how fast and neat your crew was. Hopefully we can do additional business in the future, and we will refer you to others. Thanks so much!
Review By: Tony Romos — Testimonial entered in Our Website



On time & within Budget

Sunday 17 January, 2010



On time & within Budget

I recommend Kidd Fireplace Services because they did great work that was on time and on budget. It was a pleasure to work with Randy all the way from planning to the final installation, and even after the fact and we needed a few adjustments. Randy came through for us and we will absolutely use his services again."
Review By: Bob Condon — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Excellent!

Friday 15 January, 2010



Excellent!

We would like to thank you for the excellent job in installing a gas fireplace in our home. Your company was very responsive and efficient in completing this project. Your installation was part of a larger remodeling project. It was great to work with a company that was prompt and flexible in meeting our installation schedule. You and your employees were polite, neat, followed through with everything but in particular the phone calls....that is so important to us....that businesses call you back in a timely manner.
Thanks again, Norma and Bob Evans
Review By: Norma and Bob Evans — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Service with Integrity!

Monday 30 November, 2009



Service with Integrity!

Thanks, Kevin. I appreciate the integrity with which you guys handled my service. We are enjoying the fireplace . . . and it looks great. Best, John
Review By: John — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Courteous Pros!

Wednesday 18 November, 2009



Courteous Pros!

Dear Randy, Just a note to let you know how much I appreciated the courteous service of Jacob Gammil and Terry Williams. They worked diligently and were quite willing to answer any questions I had. They put down a protective cloth so that the carpet was protected, and cleared up scrupulously before they left.

Sincerely, Patricia.Brucker
Review By: Patricia Brucker — Testimonial entered in Our Website



No one better in the Bay Area!

Monday 13 July, 2009



No one better in the Bay Area!

I have valued the expertise and commitment towards customer care and satisfaction that Kidd Services has provided over the years. Any questions or problems that I have are quickly handled by Randy or his staff.

Attention to detail, and commitment to the quality of the brands that they sell are also paramount to this organization, and it shows in the products that they use; to put it simply, they last.

I love working with Kidd Fireplace Services, and regularly recommend them to my friends and associates. To me, there is no one better in the Bay Area!”
Review By: Mary Owen — Testimonial entered in Our Website



Prompt and Professional!

Monday 13 July, 2009



Prompt and Professional!

After calling several contractors, I decided on Kidd Fireplace Services because they were prompt and professional in the bidding process. They did an excellent job of installing two fireplace inserts and one mantle on an expedited basis.”
Review By: Dennis Woodruff — Testimonial entered in Our Website




Back
Add My Review



Specials

Regency Fall Savings

Fireplace Installations

Reviews from Google & Yelp

Great Crew

Great Crew

We want to give a special shout out to Perry who was So on top of everything and made us very comfortable throughout the process and then the...
Read More ->


We will be using Kidd again

We will be using Kidd again

After a terrible experience with Blaze Fireplaces (see my 1 star review) I turned to Randy to fix things. What a professional! He showed up in a...
Read More ->